Held in the spring semester, this annual event provides the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life an opportunity to recognize and honor the achievements and efforts of our fraternities and sororities. The primary purpose of the Greek Excellence Program is to provide an objective appraisal of a chapter’s performance and to challenge each chapter to improve both programming and overall operations.

This year, the Greek Excellence Awards reception is scheduled for Sunday, February 24, 2019. In order to be eligible to receive the various chapter awards, chapters must submit an electronic version of the packet by the deadline. Let the packet serve as an instrument that highlights in detail, what your chapter has accomplished this year (January 2018 through December 2018).

For questions or concerns about the Greek Excellence Award Packet and/or the Awards Reception, please contact Angel Narvaez-Lugo at 205-348-2693 or aonarvaezlugo@ua.edu.

2017 Greek Excellence Award Recipients

Greek Endowed Scholarships

  • NPHC S.T.R.O.N.G scholarship: Makinley Pack
  • Dr. Judith L. Bonner Academic Excellence Scholarship: Jamie Weisberger, Alpha Omicron Pi
  • Dr. Kathleen Powers Cramer Leadership & Involvement Scholarship: Ally Lacoste, Alpha Omicron Pi
  • Sandee Kirby Witt UA Away Scholarship: Logan Fenhouse, Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Dr. Robert E. Witt Interfraternity Council Scholarship: To Be Awarded

Interfraternity Council Awards

  • Outstanding IFC President: Thomas Wiygul, Beta Theta Pi
  • Outstanding IFC New Member Educator: Bo Carey, Phi Sigma Kappa
  • IFC Man of the Year: Hunter Crawford, Phi Delta Theta

National Pan-Hellenic Council Awards

  • Outstanding NPHC Executive Board Member: Ashley Richardson, Zeta Phi Beta
  • Outstanding NPHC President: Robert Henderson, Omega Psi Phi

Alabama Panhellenic Association Awards

  • Outstanding Panhellenic Executive Board Member: Kelsey Kauffman, Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Outstanding Panhellenic Delegate: Emma Culbertson, Alpha Delta Chi
  • Outstanding Panhellenic President: Baylor Jefferies, Delta Delta Delta
  • Outstanding Panhellenic Recruitment Chair: Savannah Martain, Alpha Chi Omega
  • Dr. Sarah L. Healy Panhellenic Achievement Award: Everette Dawkins, Kappa Delta

United Greek Council Awards

  • Outstanding UGC Executive Board Member: Marybeth Taglieri, Alpha Omega Epsilon
  • Outstanding UGC President: Matthew Klein, Delta Lambda Phi

Greek Programming Board Awards

  • Outstanding Member of Excellence: Monica Spence, Greek Events Committee, Alpha Gamma Delta

Greek Ambassador Awards

  • Outstanding Member of Excellence: Sarah Beier, Alpha Delta Pi
  • Outstanding Member of Excellence: Sara Massey, Chi Omega



Outstanding Scholarship Award

Presented to chapters with high academic achievement, that have also focused on developing programs to promote scholarship for their membership

  • Sigma Nu (IFC)
  • Alpha Phi Alpha (NPHC)
  • Phi Mu (APA)
  • Alpha Omega Epsilon (UGC)

Outstanding Alumni/ae Relations

Presented to the chapters, who recognize that strong connections with chapter alumni/alumnae benefit members, by providing vital networking opportunities, and by offering opportunities for lifelong membership engagement.

  • Alpha Tau Omega (IFC)
  • Alpha Phi Alpha (NPHC)
  • Pi Beta Phi  (APA)
  • Alpha Omega Epsilon (UGC)

Outstanding Service & Philanthropy

Presented to those chapters that recognize that philanthropic and service initiatives are a great way to bring members together for a common cause. Also, winning chapters recognize that it is important to support causes that represent their fraternal values and allow them to make a positive impact on both a local and national scale.

  • Phi Gamma Delta (IFC)
  • Alpha Phi Alpha (NPHC)
  • Phi Mu (APA)
  • Kappa Kappa Psi (UGC)

Outstanding Commitment to Diversity

Presented to chapters that ensure they are creating initiatives and taking steps that exemplify the Division of Student Life’s goal of fostering global citizenship and cultural understanding.

  • Alpha Tau Omega (IFC)
  • Omega Psi Phi (NPHC)
  • Delta Gamma(APA)
  • Theta Tau (UGC)

Outstanding Community Relations

Presented to chapters who recognize membership in a Greek organization involves being a part of the greater University of Alabama and local Tuscaloosa community. By establishing positive community relationships Fraternities and Sororities demonstrate a commitment to living out their organization’s values.

  • Alpha Tau Omega (IFC)
  • Zeta Phi Beta (NPHC)
  • Alpha Gamma Delta (APA)
  • Theta Tau (UGC)

Outstanding Educational Programming

Presented to chapters that focus on continual membership education and development. Winning chapters engage and educate members on personal and professional development, by using collaborative educational relationships or internal resources.

  • Sigma Phi Epsilon (IFC)
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha (NPHC)
  • Chi Omega (APA)
  • Phi Sigma Pi (UGC)

Outstanding Risk Management:

Presented to chapters that have established and implemented an effective program that educates members on mitigating risks, while developing policies that protect members and the chapter’s standing on campus.

  • Sigma Nu (IFC)
  • Omega Psi Phi (NPHC)
  • Kappa Alpha Theta (APA)
  • Phi Sigma Pi (UGC)


Outstanding Partnership Award: Kendra Powell, Student Life Business Services

Most Outstanding Advisor Award

  • Most Outstanding NPHC Advisor: Donna Winn, Alpha Kappa Alpha
  • Most Outstanding APA Advisor: Melinda Goode, Kappa Delta
  • Most Outstanding UGC Advisor: Adam Brooks, Phi Sigma Pi
  • Amos D. Burns Most Outstanding IFC Advisor: Brock Jones, Delta Kappa Epsilon

Most Outstanding Chapter Award

  • Most Outstanding NPHC Chapter: Omega Psi Phi
  • Most Outstanding APA Chapter: Phi Mu
  • Most Outstanding IFC Chapter: Alpha Tau Omega

Dr. Robert E. Witt Cup

Presented annually to one chapter who exemplifies the ideals and values of The University of Alabama’s Greek community.

  • 2017 Dr. Robert E. Witt Cup: Alpha Tau Omega (IFC)